Seeing is Believing

Unfortunately I have a bad slice when it comes to hitting with my irons.  Watching shots slowly begin to arc away from their destination frustrates me to no end.   The instruction received from the golf pro only lessen the severity of my slice but doesn’t eliminate it.  Two options are available to me.  Live in frustration or adjust accordingly.  I need no other sources of anguish so I just aim left of my target.

Early one morning, before play began on the course, I took a handful of golf balls down to the 12th hole to practice.  With no one around I had time to swing away working on that blasted slice.  Today I tried to get out of my head and just swing with a relaxed motion.  To my surprise the ball traveled completely straight.  Repeat, again, again…wow, this is great!  I walked to the green and collected my shots preparing to return and hit another round of hopefully straight shots.

I heard a sound off to my left where the woods met the edge of the course.  As I silently watched I saw two deer just past the green working on breakfast.  I set up to hit another round of shots and again found the shots not slicing.  This would be a day to remember.  Little did I actually know.

I turned to wave at the greens keeper on the hole down the hill.  When I turned around those two deer had moved onto the green I was hitting towards.  I felt the safest place the deer could be when I was hitting was on the green so I launched another shot.  Oh crap!  A perfect shot that landed right in the middle of the green.  In no measure did I wish to alarm or cause harm to the deer.  I assumed the ball would frighten them and off they would run.  Wrong.

I stare in unbelief.  I squint to get a clearer view of what my mind is telling me I’m seeing.  Slowly I walk closer.  Not only did the deer not run off when the ball landed near them, they instead walked curiously toward it.  Like in a cartoon the deer sniffs at the ball and then hits it with a foot.  The other deer chases after the ball.  Just like a dog these deer begin to chase after the golf ball all over the green.  I keep trying to get closer as the show I’m watching is beyond words and deems a closer vantage point.

There are times when each one of us needs a little reinforcement of our faith.  A gentle reminder the we are not alone and there is a much larger force directing this production.  Something to remind us that there is reason to smile and believe deep within our hearts that everything is fine.  Just this moment in time.  Just this snapshot of eternity that we get to pose in.  This for me was a moment of clarity that sometimes I need not try to act as the conductor on this train.  Passengers seem to enjoy the view better anyway.

Just when this epiphany stuck me…along comes my trusted companion, my loyal dog who must have realized I was away from his protective side.  Being a dog as he is prone to be, off he goes chasing the deer away.  He comes back completely proud of his accomplishments looking for affirmation that he did a good job.  Such is the circle of life.  I pat his head and walk back to the house.

Attachments keep us from really enjoying moments like these.  I had to let that deer sequence leave and accept the present reality of my dog needing affection.  By the way, my slice came back.  This is life.

1 Comment

  1. Brittany said,

    July 12, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    “There are times when each one of us needs a little reinforcement of our faith. A gentle reminder the we are not alone and there is a much larger force directing this production. Something to remind us that there is reason to smile and believe deep within our hearts that everything is fine.”

    Wish I had more of those deer moments. (ha..deer…it’s a play on words. Dear..Deer. Well, I thought it was clever.)


Leave a Reply

