Momma Mia and Me

Recently, I took my family to see the movie “Momma Mia”.  This fact alone makes me very sad.  Not only did I enjoy this event I clapped with excitement and cried with sheer joy throughout.  That’s right real tears.  What has happened to me?  When did I become this sensitive guy bursting forth with so much raw emotion?  I really liked the stupid movie.  Momma Mia was a delightful romp filled with hope, passion, and unfulfilled dreams.  How did I come to even notice these things?  The true question is why am I even watching a movie like this in the first place? And secondly, why am I crying in a movie theatre?

Let me back up.  I am by nature a fan of sophmoric humor.  I like movies with big explosions and suprise endings.  Even though I am a pacifist I somehow relish movies with lots of guns and bad guys getting theirs in the end.  Sports movies with predictable endings used to provide me contentment.  Old black and white horror movies, bring em on.

I blame this raw edge of emotion on my children.  All five of them.  Along with my wife these six ladies have turned a grunting, scratching cave man into  a soft, caring, compassionate metrosexual.  For goodness sakes…I pee sitting down.  What kind of a man am I? 

Let me list some of these movies my girls have entreated me into watching.   When I say watched I mean repeated viewings over and over and over.  Hairspray, The Notebook, Steel Magnolia’s, Pretty Woman, Sleepless in Seattle, Music and Lyrics,  geeez!  How come I haven’t convinced my girls to the hard edge drive found in Dirty Harry movies or the relentless pursuit of self on Cool Hand Luke or even justice Billy Jack style?

Maturing is a funny thing.  Along the way crazy things happen to what we once were.  If we’re lucky we become something that allows us to become comfortable in our own skin.  If we are truely lucky, we become someone that others desire to be close to.

I wouldn’t trade a single thing for the journey that has become my life.  Even the part about liking chick flicks.  The sacrifice of the “Blues Brothers” for “My Best Friends Wedding” or “Miss Congeniality”  seems small when I see the pleasure these movies bring them.

Isn’t bringing happiness to others a great purpose for life?  Even if it means a little changing.  Good News!  “Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2” is coming out soon.

2 Comments

  1. Michayla said,

    August 5, 2008 at 12:42 am

    Daddy Mama Mia was GREAT!
    Thank You.

  2. August 18, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    Pee sitting down? As the old preacher said, “I don’t think I’d have shared that, brother.” 🙂 Seriously, Fish: Welcome to the life of DODO: Dads of Daughters Only. That’s quite a family you have there.


Leave a Reply

