Sometimes I Wonder

I am often accused of having too strong of an appreciation for my dog.  My dog is extremely bright, kind, and loving.  I’m prone to overly indulge my dog, even spoil him to an extreme.  He is so completely worth it.  My boy and me…we got a good thing going on.

His name is Buddyboy and he is the most handsome dog around.  He is attached to me in a manner that is just shy of unhealthy.  Seldom is he not found either lying next to my feet or resting his head on my lap.  He is a young dog with an old soul.  In many ways…otherworldly.  I try to encourage others to see my boy as something other than just a dog often with mixed results.

Buddyboy is a Chow and is by nature very territorial and protective of his people and palace.  He has taken the role of protector and friend to our Chihuahua Bailey and In-laws Pomeranian Bella.  He also keeps tabs on our two cats and the neighbors Yorkie.  It makes for quite a sight when his “pack” gets together.  They move en-masse around the neighborhood making sure everything is up to standard.

I feel like I communicate with Buddyboy in an ethereal kind a way.  It almost seems like I understand what he is thinking and he likewise understands me.  From an outsiders vantage point, our relationship is bazaar.  He is the ultimate Zen Master who acts with such calm and purpose and I am his willing student.

Recently, Bella decided to give chase to a car that happened to drive by our house.  Bella, being the fierce Pomeranian that she is thought any car that drives by without an invitation needs to be chased away.  Unfortunately the car didn’t see Bella and even with the screaming of adults to stop, she continued her charge into the path of the car.

All were fearful as to what was about to be witnessed.  Nothing could persuade her to stop and keep the inevitable from occurring.  This was to be a sad event.  Everyone felt helpless and watched with horror. 

Then seemingly out of nowhere came a dark flash that ran alongside Bella.  It was Buddyboy.  He managed to get himself between the car and Bella.  With a quick flick of his head he tossed Bella away from the oncoming car .  Bella rolled away from the road safely into the yard.  None the worse for the potential damage that surely awaited her.  Buddyboy just casually walked over to her as if to say, “you alright?”

Everyone just stood there in stunned silence not really sure they just saw this take place.  Buddyboy took care of his friend Bella risking his own life in the process.  He didn’t ask for any special acknowledgement or recognition, for him it was just a matter of doing the right thing because it needed to be done. 

I told you this dog was special! 

Not only is he a hero but also a teacher of profound spiritual lessons.  Just do the right thing.

8 Comments

  1. Pat Potesta said,

    August 22, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    Great….I’m quite impressed with your comments and weblog!! Way to go, Mike!

  2. Jackie said,

    August 22, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    As I share a similar bond with my dog Bandit – I totally understand your bond. I sometimes think Bandit is my soul mate (don’t tell Dave).

    What Buddyboy did is phenomenal on so many levels. Most people do not give “dumb animals” credit for problem solving – what else did Buddyboy do but see a problem and solve it? This surely indicates a high level of intellect.

    Beyond intellect Buddyboy’s act was the epitome of love and loyalty – both to the people and to Bella.

    Buddyboy learned love and loyalty from you and his deeds are reflective of all you have given to him. Good job Mike – with your lucky dogs and with your very lucky kids – you teach good lessons.

  3. Joe & Daine Peduto said,

    August 22, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    Fantastic blog Mike, I too think Buddyboy is special as I taught him how to sit. Now he won’t let me come anywhere near him, must be that territorial thing that you spoke about in the story.

    When I return in a few months I hope to get with Buddyboy face 2 face and see if we can work out that difference that he has with me. I will never forget the time I ran up Pat and Rudy’s front porch step and Buddyboy jumped the railing in tremedous fear, and now I fear him. Oh well him and I will have to work on this when I get there.

  4. Liz said,

    August 25, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    Wow Mike… that’s an amazing animal you have!!! (Or an amazing animal that has you i should say!!!) Thank you for letting me read your story – it made me happy and tearful and hopeful all at the same time. Take care, hugs to all!!!

    Lizzy

  5. Dayli said,

    August 25, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    On my goodness, what a story!!! Your stories are always so animated and wonderfully written!!! Thank you for sharing with me!!!! XOXO – Day

  6. Karen and Andy Potesta said,

    September 1, 2008 at 2:19 am

    Mike….We can totally relate,now that the kids are gone we have a beautiul and exceptionally smart 4 legged daughter named Maggie! We just want to comfirm your story of the protective and brave Buddy as we were there to wittness it!!! Hope the family,includeing dogs and cats are doing well.

  7. Thom McGuire said,

    October 15, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    This was so good I posted it on twitter. awesome Fish

  8. peacetrain5 said,

    October 15, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    Friends,
    As a follow up to this story, Buddyboy has been nominated for animal of the year for the state of Georgia. His vet was so moved by the story she nominated him to receive honor for his bravery.

    Go Buddyboy!


Leave a Reply

