Big Steps for a Little Girl…

My little girl asked me an important question yesterday.

During the service a precious baby was baptized.  She looked so smart in her colorful outfit carefully chosen for the occasion.  Arms and feet pointing and kicking in every direction all the while grinning as large as a face would allow.  The pastor took the time to walk among the congregation and show each this precious promise of tomorrow.  Seeing this hope for the future gave each present a brief glimpse of the presence of our God.  For God surely must be found in the hearts of one so innocent and pure.

With this backdrop in mind our journey home from church was filled with much conversation from my baby girl.  “Daddy, why did pastor Bob baptize that little girl?”  My heart leapt with joy sensing the stirring in my daughter’s heart and mind.  “Daddy, have I ever been baptized?”  I wanted to pull the car over and give her my full attention.  “Daddy, what happens when people get baptized?”  I found my heart racing as my mind kicked into overdrive.  I had so much to describe, so much to discuss, so many ideas on how to handle this moment. 

I slowed my mind to a crawl before I spoke.  I wanted to not confuse a seeking heart nor interfere with the Spirit’s prompting.  Knowing full well these next words would carry great value and trust I spoke with clarity and conviction.

I said, “Baptism is where we tell others how much Jesus means to us.  It is telling everyone in the room that Jesus is very important to me and I will try to be like him as I live my life.”  I could hear the thought wheels turning in her head.  “Daddy, I want to be like Jesus.”  Tears began to well up in my eyes as I thought of the depth of such a pronouncement.  I tried to maintain my composure.  “Daddy, I want to be baptized and tell people I want to live my life like Jesus.”  “Then we will speak to pastor Bob and make sure this happens for you I told her.”

Today I was blessed.

3 Comments

  1. Michayla Fisher said,

    October 13, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    Daddy
    please right about my gymnastits.
    love and hugs Michayla

  2. mom said,

    October 13, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    WOW!! When will she be baptised??? How beautifully this happened. I could actually SEE this in my mind.

    How about love and hugs from Grammy for Michayla and for you from your Mom.

  3. michayla fisher said,

    August 5, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    In my last note I misspled gymnastics.Thank-you for writing about me!


Leave a Reply

