A Brighter Light

candle-in-the-dark

 

The following is an excerpt from Anne Lamott’s book – Traveling Mercies.  I found the thought extremely insightful and worth sharing.

In this passage she describes why she takes her son to church.

I make Sam go to church because I can.  I outweigh him by nearly seventy five pounds.  But that is only part of it.  The main reason is that I want to give him what is found in the world, which is to say a path and a little light to see by.  Most of the people I know who have what I want – which is to say, purpose, heart, balance, gratitude, joy – are people with a deep sense of spirituality.  They are people in community, who pray, or practice their faith; they are Buddhists, Jews, Christians – people banding together to work on themselves and for human rights.  They follow a brighter light than the glimmer of their own candle; they are part of something beautiful.  I saw something once from Jewish Theological Seminary that said, “A human life is like a single letter of the alphabet.  It can be meaningless.  Or it can be part of a great meaning.” 

So all the resistance I encounter with the hair not being done right or clothes that don’t match perfectly I need to be steadfast.  When everyone’s nerves are frayed to a ragged edge preparing to visit the holy or the rain is pouring outside and umbrella can’t be found.  It is this very thought that challenges me to endure and continue the process of introducing hope and promise for my children.

Leave a Reply

