Lena Horne

Recently a legend passed from us.  Lena Horne died after 92 history making years changing the face of entertainment.  She was a remarkable beauty.

My grandfather was a musician’s musician who understood and valued quality music and talent when he saw and heard it.  Lena Horne had it all for him.  Not only was she a gifted singer but she was also quite a looker as well.

Grandpa would always talk about the crush he had on his girlfriend.  He would ask me, “have you ever seen someone so beautiful ever?”  As a young boy a certainly appreciated his fondness for this attractive woman.  But the way he talked about her as his girlfriend troubled me.  So this young boy finally set out to clarify the situation.

We lived in a small town where everyone knew everyone else and all of their personal business good or bad.  Imagine the surprise on my teachers face when I told her of my grandfather’s affair.  Word got around pretty quickly and soon I found myself sitting in the school nurse’s office who happened to be my grandmother.  What’s all this about Grandpa having a girlfriend?  Tell me now she demanded.

So I came clean about the private conversations I had with Grandpa, detailing the depths of his attraction to Lena Horne.  Seldom has a face transfigured so quickly removing the look of anger with the new shape of humor.  Grandma laughed and gave me a hug and sent me back to class.  The clean-up around town was now beginning.  Hopefully news of Grandpa’s unfaithfulness would begin to dissipate to all the newshounds in town.

Thanks for the warm remembrance of my Grandfather, Ms. Horne.

2 Comments

  1. Don Harp said,

    May 12, 2010 at 10:30 am

    Nice reflective article, Mikey. Lena was indeed beauty at its very best with the ability to really cut loose on tunes. dh

  2. Mom said,

    May 13, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    Bob Hope always said “thanks for the memories”. Me too. That was a sweet and wonderful memory Mike. Thanks. Love you.


Leave a Reply

