Why I do My Own Laundry

It’s really not a big deal.  It requires a limited amount of exertion and effort.  I can do many other things while I’m in the process of doing it.  See, I told you, no biggie for me to do my own laundry.  Maybe it’s just all about perspective.  Seeing this as less of a dreaded project as it is a means to an end.

In college doing laundry WAS a big event.  It meant gathering all my clothes from all reaches of my domain.  Sometimes this meant crawling under the bed and others called for reached dangerously behind the dresser.  Keeping up with socks never slowed me down.  I just played the math.  If you keep buying new socks, eventually after losing enough you still will possibly have two pair that somewhat resemble each other.  Once that was completed, the task of seeking out the required change for the machine came to light.  Never ever did I seem to have the right amount of change and begging for quarters, dimes and nickels was an accepted protocol.  Toting this heavy bundle of smelly clothes across town to the laundry mat was enough exercise for an unmotivated college student.  Then the process of washing, drying, and folding began in the often times a hot, stuffy and poorly ventilated room.  It seemed to take an insanely long time to finish and then it was time to lug the clothes back and put them away.  Check this off as complete.  Now it was time to do something else, anything else to take my mind off laundry and on to something sane, like surfing or skateboarding.

This is why I hated doing laundry.  I’m convinced this is why so many men likewise dislike doing it as well.  The foundation of the exercise for us seemed so distant from the way our mothers did it at home.  It sure was easy with good old mom doing it all the time.

Fast forward…My wife works very hard.  She juggles many responsibilities and brings a shine to the finished outcome.  One day while watching her do the laundry after working just as long and hard of a day as I had I gave pause.  Why should she have to do this task for me?  Why can’t I do this and free her up a few minutes and allow her to relax just as I desire to relax.  Seems fair, and isn’t that what a relationship should be based on, Fairness?

The thought of some guy sitting on the couch with his pants unbuttoned, allowing his belly breathing room, eating cheetos, and downing a cold one asking my daughter to wait on him makes me want to inflict great bodily harm.  I just can’t sit by idly and not set the bar extremely high today so they never fall into a trap of servitude.

My daughters have noticed this change in our family and hopefully paid careful attention.  I desire that they see that the value of a woman is just as important as the value of a man.  That woman was not put on this earth to tend to the wishes and impulses of a man.  I want them to see that real love is a shared partnership where each work together to make the others life more enjoyable.  I can talk about this until I’m short of breath but until my girls see me living out this promise, they may not grasp it as their own.  That is why I do my own laundry…to give my girls a better quality of life.

Girls, seek to find someone who will enhance you.  Look for a partner who will desire to make your life more pleasurable and enjoyable.  Make them desire to seek new ways to make you happy.  Find someone who dreams as big as you do…and chase those dreams into a living reality.

3 Comments

  1. Milton said,

    July 17, 2010 at 10:30 am

    I remember a time when we did laundry together. I remember the huge gray duffel bag that you used to gather all the clothes together. After sorting my colors and whites and placing them into four washers, I noticed that you had that entire duffel bags contents in one washer. There was not even room for one more sock! After the wash cycle, as you were pulling the clothes from the washer, you made this statement: “Wow! My clothes did not get clean!”

    They were good times indeed.

    • peacetrain5 said,

      July 18, 2010 at 11:04 am

      Milton,
      We certainly had some memorable experiences in the days of our youth. I continue to be thankful for your continued friendship.

  2. Mom said,

    July 29, 2010 at 11:39 am

    So glad to hear this. Thank you Lord for men like you.


Leave a Reply

