Summer…

As the temperature rises, my patience begins to stall

Clothes get sticky and dreams lead to fall

The price to stay cool inside

Drains my checkbook too quickly

A short walk to the mailbox and I’m through

I’m tired, worn, and my shirt is drenched too

The kids won’t venture out to play in the sun

Too hot, no fun

Take me to the mall and spend more money

This is the cool thing to do.

Time is not meant to be wished away

Savor every minute, savor every day

Sure wish the leaves would begin to color

And summer would be no more

I would again be a happy man

If only I could enjoy going outside that door.

1 Comment

  1. Mom said,

    August 17, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    to finish-

    break today has been. Relaxing to watch the animals play in the rain and the trees saying “thank you ” for the watering. We picked four melons which we are sure were not there this morning. I say thank you too.


Leave a Reply

