Open the Curtain…

The work light is focused directly above me, its warmth a welcome relief as I sit and await the curtain opening.  I have a few moments to ponder this next scene as the set is re-arranged behind me preparing for a dramatic closing number.  Most people don’t find themselves sitting in a wheelchair wearing fishnet stockings and high heels at my age but life does require risks.  I think back over my life as I prepare to reveal legs that maybe aren’t the prettiest nor the most athletic anymore, proudly showing their nearly 50 years of use.  I think briefly about my seminary professors and overly opinionated church leaders who directed and shaped my early ministerial career, how this moment is far removed from those days.

I’m glad to be distanced and separated from the mindset that seeks to destroy everything that isn’t deemed sanctified and holy by a select few.  I’m glad to be surrounded by the likes of folks considered so unworthy, folks whose company a man of great honor would never consider being associated with, so they say.  Performing in a play like Rocky Horror would make the blue hairs and combover’s of my past grasp at thier hearts seeking a diving healing.  Funny how life works. 

What am I doing here?  What was I thinking?  How did I ever manage to get into this situation anyway?  My kids are going to just plain die. 

Soon the rustle of hurried people diminish as the props find their correct places, the last scurry of actors find their marks as the creaking sound of the curtain lumbers overhead.  The light brightens and soon I see nothing but an overwhelming glow from the spotlight, the music begins and people trickle in singing proudly to the bouncing soundtrack.  Lingerie and feather boas accompanied by enough excessive face paint that would scare a small child suddenly surround me. I’m at a loss as I watch the character gyrations intertwine and become one mound of movement fittingly following the beat of the music ever so perfectly.

I count discreetly as my big reveal waits.  The only cue I have is a certain beat in the song and then a count is required to allow me the proper starting place so I finish just as the next group begins.  For me, concentration is hard with all this activity flowing around me, but I must stay in touch with that beat.  10, 11, 12…Time for my lines.  I finish just in time and fling my covering to the side showing the world what aged legs look like when dressed in fishnet stockings, garter belt, high heels shoes, and a bikini.  Legs begin to flail hopelessly in every direction; please don’t let me hurt anybody during this kick fest, myself included.  I’m as lost as a whirling dervish in prayer as I spin, twist, kick, and shimmy about the stage.  What do I care?  This is fun.  I enjoy having a good time.  Besides, I think I look good in stockings.

Far too many run away before the curtain opens and never put themselves out on the ledge.  Only when one feels the danger of falling does the thrill and excitement of living life fully come to the present.  I hope I can keep challenging myself right up till the time I need my own wheelchair and even then I’ll try riding a wheelie.  Living involves risk, risk living a life worth living. 

Live life profoundly….

1 Comment

  1. peacetrain5 said,

    October 20, 2010 at 7:46 am

    Rumor has it some churches are preparing to picket opening night. As they say, any press is good press. They extra attention should really help ticket sales.


Leave a Reply

