I Pledge Allegiance

 

HI, I am an UN-APOLOGETIC AMERICAN!! I pledge allegiance to the flag of the UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, and to the REPUBLIC for which it stands, one nation Under GOD, indivisible, with LIBERTY and JUSTICE for all!! I grew up reciting this every morning in school. We no longer do that for…fear… of OFFENDING SOMEONE!! Let’s see how many …AMERICANS will re-post this & not care about offending someone.

I saw this on my friends Facebook page and became sad.  Sad that somehow, saying the Pledge of Allegiance could be thought such a determinant on the good American high water level.  How this person woke up in the morning and decided they needed to show their patriotism is greater than others is confusing and well, odd.

I watched with amazement as people draped themselves in the red, white, and blue after 9/11.  It seemed to spark a rallying cry for the neo-patriots everywhere.  Suddenly we couldn’t spit without hitting something emblazoned with old glory.  Somehow this wave of emotionalism swept past me, maybe it was my aversion to the color red, and I watched this unfold from the sideline.

Churches now became the epicenter for the nationalistic patriotism movement.  I would watch in wonder as patriotic services were held to celebrate our country.  The faithful rose as one to stand, salute and offer their allegiance to this colorful flag sitting prominently before the crowd.  Here in the same building where their allegiance was previously demanded of another kingdom, now forgetting that, reciting in lockstep allegiance to another kingdom.  One doesn’t have to stretch too far with memory for another time when churches pledged allegiance to their country, didn’t turn out to well then either.

A quote comes to mind, I can’t remember the author, probably with a little searching I could find it out but now feel uncompelled to do so.

Followers of Jesus have always set themselves up against the state.  When you claim allegiance to God’s kingdom – one that looks nothing like any nation, country, or empire that has ever existed – you’re rejecting your country whether you realize it or not.

For those who need this assurance that you are one of the connected dots and are included in this country, by all means place your hand over your heart and pledge away.  As a matter of fact, just keep it their so nobody misunderstands your loyalty.

Me, I’ll pass.  I won’t pledge my life, loyalty, obligation, love, and desire to anything other than my maker. If this upsets you, I’m sorry.  For me it seems silly to pledge ones life to a line drawn in the dirt, a border.  How am I to overlook issues I take such objection to?  Am I willing to make such a commitment to a man-made line that can change at a whim?

Reminds me of the story of the Lithuanian farmer whose home was now on Russian soil.  When approached and asked about which he preferred to be called, a Russian or a Lithuanian, he boldly responded…Please by all means a Russian, I can’t take any more of those cold Lithuanian winters.

Just how important are borders anyway?  People of faith are citizens of a different kingdom anyway; borders never determine who we are.  In reality I have much in common with others who live outside our borders, oftentimes more so than the locals.

So to all my flag waving patriot friends, accept me as I am.  I too am an American, an American who is grateful for the opportunity to speak dissent to an empire set on conquering a world for its own devices.  An empire who seeks not peace by its actions but war, this I do not pledge my heart to.  This I reject.  This is my right and I am every bit as patriotic in my voice as you are in wrapping yourself in your flag.  Forgive me if I don’t blindly follow destruction down the long dark hallway of obligation.  “For me patriotism is the same as humanity.  I am patriotic because I am human and humane” as stated by Brother Gandhi.

I’ll pledge my heart to peace but never to war.

I didn’t repost the comment.

Leave a Reply

