Turtle…

On the way home today from the Post Office, I noticed a turtle sunning himself in the middle of the road.  He didn’t seem to mind the peril that faced him as traffic barreled by in both directions.  I admit, laying in the sun is a relaxing encounter and provides plenty of peaceful calm.

However, this dude would be dead in a short period of time unless he was removed from the road quickly.  I pulled my car to a stop in the road and got out and picked up my placid friend.  He seemed rather disturbed to have his mellow harshed but I picked him up none the less.  After carrying him to the edge of the woods he seemed to look back with gratitude, maybe that part was just in my head, but one never knows.

Life is valuable, all life.  Until we can see the worth of all life, no matter how small and insignificant one can never fully appreciate the meaning of any life.  To do for those who cannot benefit us raises our awareness with the universe that surrounds us.

Compassion.

3 Comments

  1. lijiun said,

    June 13, 2012 at 10:11 am

    HI! May you be blessed for your kindness!

  2. Emily said,

    June 13, 2012 at 10:21 am

    I agree with you completely! I brake for the smallest of critters- chipmunks, squirrels…whatever comes in my path. Thanks for sharing with us!

  3. June 13, 2012 at 1:49 pm

    Thank you for saving him! I have a turtle that was given to me about 10 years ago and I love her very much. When it comes to basking, they forget about everything else, so I am very happy you saved this little guy. Thank you again!


Leave a Reply

