Squirrel Nuts…

Zen comes to us when we choose to not seek it out.  At times when we are simply just being people of love and compassion, opportunities to encounter oneness and generosity find an easier path to our door.

Yesterday while returning from a twilight round of golf I happened upon a young deer enjoying a private dining experience near my backyard.  As is my pattern, I stopped fast so as to not interrupt this deer while eating.  My thinking being, I choose to not be disturbed when I eat, why shouldn’t this deer be afforded the same privilege?

I sat still in my golf cart probably around twenty yards from my new friend trying to be quiet and non-eventful as possible I noticed something a little out of the ordinary.  As I looked up towards the top of the tree the deer stood beneath, a rustling took place up high.

It was then I noticed the movement was from a squirrel who was having some type of experience with this deer.  This squirrel was busily dislodging or throwing or somehow making acorns come loose from this tree and rain down in the vicinity of the awaiting deer.  Every now and then the squirrel would come down the tree and look at the deer, as if to say “everything ok?” and then run hastily back to the treetop to resume his service.

These two beautiful creatures allowed me to watch this shared meal for twenty minutes without even giving me a consideration.  Suddenly the deer stood bolt upright, ears at full attention, and his tail began to hastily swat in communication.  A firm glance to his right and then off he ran as a child called home after a long day at play.  He was out of sight in a flash.

God gives us moments like this to remind us of the provision, care, and compassion  available to even the most vulnerable among us.  When we see scenes like this played out, how can we not be equally caring and compassionate?

1 Comment

  1. Don said,

    August 21, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    Thanks, Fish. That must have been a very cool experience.


Leave a Reply

