Anything?

Intelligent minds thought it best to use every means available to critique and defame the name and performance of our current President.  Not one single day goes by that a new headline appears in a newsfeed somewhere about the latest shortcoming of our leader.  These are clearly offered to promote an atmosphere of fear and not to encourage belief and acceptance of the finer points of the challenger.

Not having a dog in this fight allows me the perspective of an observer without any emotional attachment in the outcome.  Maybe that’s not a completely true statement, some of the rhetoric coming from the opposition party has the hair standing up on the back of my neck.  Seems the only answer offered to any type of disagreement is to go start a war, whatever happened to diplomacy?  So maybe I have a limited attachment to the outcome.

So the question I repeatedly ask is; “So, What do you have to offer?”  referring to the group trying to replace our current leadership.  We all hear the negativity, we all hear the rally points of division, yet no answers are ever floated.  I find myself quite rightly brilliant on Monday morning second guessing the play of my favorite team.  I seem to posses an uncanny skill in having the right answers to the problems after they’ve already been played out.  How would I do in real time dealing with these issues as they occur?  Please, I would fail miserably beyond description.  Yet somehow, I seem to think I have the answers each Monday when talking about the shortcomings of my team.  This is even more true in politics.

From a person who has an above average understanding of world economics and is somewhat well read, to not accept and appreciate some of the examples of true leadership exhibited by our President during this administration is either downright dishonest or sadly uninformed.  Both are frightening.

Just shooting down the competition without giving anything new and exciting or positive and encouraging is just a grown up version of middle school girl spats in the hallway between classes.  Anything?  Bueller, Bueller?  Give us something we can believe in already or shut the Hell up.

2 Comments

  1. Don Harp said,

    October 15, 2012 at 10:28 am

    Your analogy regarding Monday morning quarterbacking is a very fair one, Ferris!

  2. bob & barb C. said,

    October 22, 2012 at 8:03 am

    Only wish I had the courage to pass this on to some of my Romney supporting ‘friends’.


Leave a Reply

